It was during the General Assembly of February 18, 1887 of the Union pour le Progrès de l'Art Culinaire, an association created on May 7, 1877 under the influence of Joseph Favre, that the Association changed its name to s 'call "Académie de Cuisine".

The board is made up of the elected President Corentin Pacos, Léopold Hanni will succeed him, then Casimir Moisson; secretary general Joseph Favre who will resign 2 years later; session secretary Auguste Colombié.

Members of the board: A Coquelet, Hans Jacob, L Hanni, A Hall and L Lallemant.

In 1888, the Académie de Cuisine asked Joseph Favre to return; The organization is reorganized and takes the name of Académie Culinaire de France. Its first President was Paillard, Casimir Moisson was the Honorary President, Léopold Mourier & Léopold Hanni vice-Presidents; secretary general Joseph Favre / deputies Darenne and Colombié; treasurer Lacomme, assistant J. Garde; librarian Ripouteau; Quaestor Pierdon.

It is customary to say that the Académie Culinaire de France was created in 1883. If we refer to the title "Academy" or If we refer to the chefs who made up the various offices, from 1883 to 1888, this is possible, we have find them in the first office of the Académie Culinaire de France in 1889.

This period from 1883 to 1888 can be considered as a time of organization and preparation of the statutes.
On February 17, 1903, Joseph Favre died - Emile Darenne was elected secretary general.

The 1914 war breaks out. In a Europe in crisis, the Academy is losing its influence; between the wars, it will be closer to a gastronomic club than an academy.
In 1949, the leaders got together to revive our associations; It was in 1951 that the Académie Culinaire de France filed its new statutes and gave back all its place to people in the kitchen and pastry-making.

The first President of this new era is Ferdinand Wernert - Secretary Raymond Bodet, followed in 1953 by President Maurice Ménessier and Secretary Jacques Sylvestre

During his mandate, the President creates delegations in the USA, Canada and Japan.
In 1963, Jules Petit, chef at Drouant Gaillon, MOF cuisine 1936, became Chairman and Jean Germa secretary general.


The USA offers the Academy a splendid trophy on a copper plinth; President Jules Petit is organizing the first National Cooking and Pastry Trophy - Trophy which will be re-competed each year. It is still relevant today.

In 1967 President Pierre Mengelatte was elected for 4 years; secretary Jean Germa. From this presidency, we will note the large hunting banquets, mainly at the Military Circle of which P Mengelatte was the manager.

In 1971 - After 10 years as secretary general, Jean Germa is elected president; and Bernard Barus, secretary general.
Jean Germa gives a more academic note to the Academy; author of "Nocturne at the Culinary Pantheon". He went to Vex, Switzerland, to put a plaque on the birthplace of Joseph Favre. He created the Academy’s “Emeritus Members” and accreditation of cooking recipes presented by chefs. He died during his second term.

In 1978, President Michel Malapris took over as head of the Academy. Bernard Barus is reappointed as secretary general.
During the terms of President Malapris, the induction ceremonies leave the headquarters of the Academy on rue St Roch and take place in the lounges of major Parisian hotels.
It creates the Benelux, Great Britain and Australia delegations; it perpetuates hunting lunches or dinners, as well as the National Trophy for cooking and pastry making.
President Malapris, widely recognized in the field of tourism and agriculture, will obtain numerous distinctions for the heads of the Academy.
After 18 years of presidency, tired, he resigned in 1996.

Gérard Dupont is elected to end the mandate of President Malapris. He will be re-elected for 4 terms. Jean Sabine was the Secretary General from 1998 to 2010.


During Gérard Dupont's terms, the Academy will move into its new offices, acquired in 2009; The induction ceremonies will take place in the large amphitheater of the faculty of medicine.

Gérard Dupont sets up the major conferences before the inductions with Jacques Puisais, Jean-Marie Bourre, Jacques Revel, chemist Hervé This, Pierre Gagnaire as speakers… ..
It perpetuates each year the hunting dinner, the National Trophy; In 2001, he created the Passion Trophy, which he organized every two years.
The Mexican delegation was created, as well as the Chile, Peru, Bolivia, Argentina, Ecuador, Cuba, Korea and Switzerland branches.

In 2015, Fabrice Prochasson was the second MOF elected President of the Academy (Jules Petit MOF 1936); he is also the youngest President and member emeritus of this new era.
He is elected with a program of modernity, more social; and the Academy finds a new place in the world of gastronomy, and it seeks to bring together the presidents of Culinary associations by creating in 2016 and 2017 the revival of the Flame of the Unknown Soldier by inviting all members of culinary associations in France .

He quickly created a new graphic charter, drawing inspiration from the French Academy so that each delegation and international branch could display a sign of belonging and allow better global communication with a high-end logo.
President Prochasson creates the delegation of Chile and that of Switzerland, and transforms the Benelux and Belux delegation by withdrawing the Netherlands.

He has been bringing the Bernard Loiseau Trophy since February 2016, and in April 2019 he created with Laurent Drunat the first Ulis Culinary Trophy for young cooks with cognitive disabilities.
He is now in his second term since February 8, 2019 with the desire to create a new website for the Académie Culinaire de France, and to work on publishing subjects and to strengthen the library through acquisitions of new books, and strengthens the proximity of members in France by creating regional branches.

Since 2016, the Academy has actively participated in the Spirit Book Grand Prix by being in the jury, and by making food and alcohol pairings during this day of the Spirit Grand Prix.
He continues the Marius Dutrey Gold Cup with Christian Millet the president of the Société des Cuisiniers de France, the National Cuisine and Pastry Trophy, and the International Passion Trophy.